Mistakes, Screw-ups…

September 8, 2010 § Leave a comment

My Son

Sometimes when you screw up, things work out fine…usually not, but sometimes they do.  I had dropped out of photography just as digital was going big time.  I got back into it some years later…bought a digital camera, Photoshop and was ready to go…I didn’t have a clue what I was doing.  I did this lighting test with my son as the model…you can see by his expression, how pleased he was to help dad out!  I needed to smooth out some rough areas and found the gaussian blur filter…boy did I ever find it.  I kept adding the effect, erasing, adding some more whatever I did, I can’t even remember now, but I wound up with this…I love it and my wife and son hate it.My next big mistake was when I tried curves for the first time.  I tried some simple little adjustments and soon realized I couldn’t figure out what the heck I was doing.  Two guys fishing, bluish green water and a slightly overcast sky.  I tried to do some exposure corrections and before I knew it, I had a mess.  I was really frustrated, but just kept playing around and wound up with this.  Most of my mistakes wind up being deleted, but I have these two that wound up as favorites.  Of course if someone asks, I had these completely planned out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mistakes, Screw-ups… at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

