Artists and Vandals

May 23, 2011 § 3 Comments

Squaw Rock Sign

There’s a walking/biking path in the park just down the street from my house.  The main attraction on this particular path is “Squaw Rock”.  Back in the mid-1800’s, Henry Church carved a papoose, a woman, arrows and a giant serpent into this giant boulder along the banks of the Chagrin River, in what is now South Chagrin Reservation.  Henry’s sculpture was so well received that they named a street after him.  As you walk along the path, you’re inundated with a tremendous amount of other carvings…none of which are very artistic.  My guess is, if Henry were alive today, and attempted to carve his “Squaw Rock”, he would be arrested and fined, the same as our other local “sculptors”.

"Squaw Rock"

Local "sculptor 1"

Local "sculptor 2"

Local "sculptor 3"

Local "sculptor 4"

As You can see, I live in a real hotbed of “artistic” activity…yeah, right!

§ 3 Responses to Artists and Vandals

  • Michele Haro says:

    I would like to know if you accept submissions to your site. I do work similiar to what I’ve viewed in here.

    Thank you for your consideration.

    Michele Haro

    • Michele, thanks for checking my blog. I don’t accept submissions at this time. This is my personal blog, in that I relate concerns, stories, or experiences that have happened to me personally. I have been kicking around the idea of having guest bloggers from time to time, but not at this time. Thanks for asking.

      Jon

  • Michele Haro says:

    My work is similiar to what I’ve viewed in here and I would like to know if you accept submissions or new photographers? Thank you for your consideration.

    Michele Haro

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Artists and Vandals at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

