Back To My Roots…Still Life

May 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

"Old Work Light"

When I first started out as a commercial photographer, I specialized in still life work…that’s what I learned in school, that’s what I did as an assistant, and that’s what I did when I went out on my own.  A number of years ago, I switched to location work, but I’ve always kept a place in my heart for still life.  Last week, two of my friends, Terry Heffernan and Bill Simone each sent me some still life samples of things they’ve been working on.  Terry and Bill are two of the greatest photographers I’ve ever seen.  You can see for yourselves how great their work is by clicking on the links to their sites over on the left side of this page.  Anyhow, their images inspired me to try my hand at shooting still life once again, so I looked around my old barn and came up with an assortment of junk.  Junk, but junk with some character!  I pulled out my lights, set up a tabletop, and went to work.  If you’d like to check out some of my other still life work, you can click on the link to my site…over on the left by Terry’s and Bill’s.  Once on my site, click on “Client Login” in the menu, and type in the words Still Life in the window.  I hope you enjoy looking at these as much as I enjoyed making them.

"Baseball Glove in Need of Repair"

"Grinding Wheels"

"Oil Can and Rag"

"Old Rope"

"Window Screen"

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back To My Roots…Still Life at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

