A Simple Composite Image

January 23, 2012 § 1 Comment

"Girl, Drink, and Steam"

Had a couple of crazy weeks dealing with…don’t get me started, but if you’re familiar with Arlo Guthrie’s “Alice’s Restaurant” where something trivial mushroomed into…o.k. I’ll stop!  This week, I’ll keep it short and sweet…well at least short.  Anyhow, this post combines things from a couple of previous posts.  I took an image of a girl from my Oct. 3rd blog entitled “Lighting Variations for Glamour and Portrait” and an image I just shot yesterday using the lighting techniques from my  Oct. 24th blog entitled “Still Life…Incredibly Soft Light”, and made a composite image.  In Photoshop, I underexposed the image of the girl to add a surreal-like drama to the shot.  I then shot the cup and straw using the soft lighting technique.  I made sure to light the subject in such a way so the highlights coincide with the highlights on the girls face.  Last, but not least, I used Photoshop to add a wisp of steam coming from the cup…just a hint, too much looks fake.

"Cup and Straw Behind the Scenes"

Till next time…thanks for letting me share.

§ One Response to A Simple Composite Image

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Simple Composite Image at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

