Creativity…Our Greatest Tool!

June 4, 2012 § Leave a comment

“Dixieland in the Woods”

I love reading about the latest equipment…cameras,lenses, lighting…the latest Photoshop programs, all the latest plugins, wow, can’t get enough of them!  If I could afford it, I’d probably have every new camera body and every lens Nikon makes!  I’d be up to my eyeballs in Photoshop plugins, so I could play to the wee hours of the morning, except that I already do that(got to try and get more sleep!!).  I think we all want the latest “toys” to play with, but really the greatest tool we creatives have is our imaginations.  Being able to see what others miss, or sometimes being able to visualize something that isn’t there yet.  I’ve been very sick the last few weeks(much better now thank you), and I haven’t been able to get out and shoot.  I decided to look at all my old files and I came up with the image of this Dixieland band performing at our “Blossom Festival” a few years ago.  One of my first blogs was about the “Blossom Festival” if you want to see some previous images from it.  Anyhow, I had this shot of the band and I thought it might have some potential as part of a composite.  The original shot brings back memories of a fun time, but it seemed too busy.  I loved the reds, and I thought if I could place the band in a background with a contrasting color, it could work.  I found a forest scene that I shot last fall in a local “metropark”.  This scene was from the same park and shoot that I used in my “kayak” shot a couple of blogs ago, just a different part of the park.  I’m getting some great “milage” from that day in the park!  When I do an image like this, many times I like to have the viewer ask questions such as “why would a Dixieland band be out performing in the middle of a forest?”  My answer would be “why not?”  We need to constantly stretch our imaginations, “push the envelope”, create…and have fun!

“Blossom Time Dixieland Band”

“Deep in the Forest”

Get out there and “push the envelope”, “think outside the box” and whatever other cliche I’m forgetting!  Have fun!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Creativity…Our Greatest Tool! at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

