A Still Life Assist From My Wife

October 29, 2012 § 4 Comments

“My Wife’s Hats and Chair”

My wife’s been coming in handy lately…I mean with my photography business.  She’s been pretty handy in many ways for the last 26 years, but especially now with my business.  She assisted me on my last shoot, and “schmoozed” with the client better than I could ever do.  I swear, by the end of the shoot, she and the clients were best friends!  Who woulda’ known.  Anyhow, as you know, if you’ve been following my blog, I’ve been doing a lot of “light painting” using my trusty little stylus penlight flashlight.  I’m grabbing anything that’s not tied down and turning it into a photo subject.  I’m looking at my old baseball gloves, but then I think, “been there, done that”.  My wife suggested that I photograph her hat collection, actually she’s been suggesting that for quite awhile…even before I started up with the “light painting”.  My reaction’s always been “yeah o.k. maybe later”.  Actually, I never even looked at her hat collection!  Well, I ran out of ideas, so when she suggested her hats again, I gave in.  She started opening all of these old hat boxes and WOW, some of them were “drop-dead” beautiful!  I grabbed my three favorites and headed to the barn…I mean my studio…o.k. my “barn studio”.  I started positioning the hats on one of my wife’s old chairs, and whipped out my flashlight and started shooting.  Like I said before…”WOW”!  I guess the moral of this story is to listen to all suggestions…even if they come from your spouse.

“One Hat, One Chair, One Flashlight…Simplicity!”

I’ve actually been shooting some outdoor shots lately, so I’ll show some of them next time.

 

§ 4 Responses to A Still Life Assist From My Wife

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Still Life Assist From My Wife at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

