Happy Birthday America

July 4, 2014 § 2 Comments

"Happy Birthday"

“Happy Birthday”

I’m watching “John Adams” on one of the cable stations as I write this.  I’m recognizing some of the scenes because I was there a few times…Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia.  The gentleman in my image was the “greeter” all the times we were there.  He never broke character and spoke to us visitors as if it was the 1700’s.  I remember listening to the various people telling us about how a group of mostly young people decided to, at the risk of death, start a new country.  After all of these years, I still get nervous when I’m about to start a new assignment, and I’ve never yet had an art director threaten to kill me…at least not out loud!  Anyhow, the technical part of this job is a simple composite…the Williamsburg greeter, I’ve explained.  The background is a shot of the flag blowing in the breeze while attached to a government building in Washington D.C.  I used post-processing to bring out the texture a bit.  So, again, Happy Birthday America, and to all of you out there, I hope you have a great 4th, rest up, and then go out there and create something great.

§ 2 Responses to Happy Birthday America

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Birthday America at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

