Welcome Home LeBron

July 12, 2014 § Leave a comment

"The LeBron Sign"

“The LeBron Sign”

I shot this 4 years ago.  This sign covered a whole building in downtown Cleveland.  I never realized how big it was until I went to photograph it.  I didn’t plan on shooting this picture, but after a few days, I thought I’d run downtown and shoot it.  Cleveland pretty much wanted all reminders of LeBron gone, and the quicker the better.  I was pissed especially when I watched “The Decision” on ESPN.  I really thought I had missed my chance to get this shot since I had waited a few days. I went down on a Sunday morning with my son.  There was a handful of people standing around watching as the workers were working to bring the sign/banner down.  As luck would have it, I got the perfect shot.  What amazed me was how small the workers were in relation to the sign.  Anyhow, I got the shot, put it in my portfolio and website, and pretty much forgot about it…until today.  I’m thrilled!  My dislike of LeBron dissipated over the years.  He became just another athlete who left here for more money elsewhere.  “The Decision” eventually faded into the back recesses of my mind along with “The Drive”,  “The Fumble”, “The Shot”, “Red Right 88”, and probably a few more.  Let’s just say that it’s extremely  tough being a Cleveland sports fan.  I’m 64 years old and the last time Cleveland had a championship was the Browns winning the NFL Championship in 1964…when I was 14!  Hell, this was before the Super Bowl was even thought of.  The Cavs came close, but never won it all.  The Indians last won in ’48 when I was  -2!  I’m a big Ohio State fan, and they were undisputed, undefeated National Champs when I was 18.  The next time that happened I was 52.  I was beginning to believe that Cleveland would not win another championship in my lifetime, but now I have renewed hope.  I read LeBron’s letter in Sports Illustrated today, and he said all the right things.  My son thinks I’m wrong, and so far he hasn’t forgotten or forgiven, but then he hasn’t gone through as long a “drought” as his poor dad has.  So here’s my shot, and if they decide to put another sign up someday…preferably after a championship celebration, I’ll be down there shooting!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Welcome Home LeBron at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

