Time To Relax, Reflect, and Recharge!

October 27, 2014 § 10 Comments

"Walking Bridge"

“Walking Bridge”

One of my favorite things to do is walk around and shoot pictures.  It doesn’t matter if it’s rural, urban, with people or without, but heading out of the studio, sans lights, stands, reflectors etc. is a great way for me to “relax, reflect, and recharge”. Shooting scenics, especially in the fall with all of those gorgeous colors has always been a favorite of mine…and I’m sure I’m not alone.  My last blog was about trying to achieve a “painterly” look, and although it’s nice to have tools at hand that can help me achieve that look, if that’s what a client wants, I’m a photographer and not a painter.  A number of comments I got, were from photographers that said I should “get it right, in the camera”.  I used to do that when I shot transparencies with my old film cameras, actually, you really didn’t have a choice…if you didn’t get it in the camera, you didn’t get it.  Transparencies were pretty unforgiving.  You could bracket your butt off, but film and processing cost a lot of money, so you had to be right on when your film came back from the lab.  With digital, I can set my camera so I get perfect color, sharpness, tones, and exposure…at least perfect according to the camera, but I shoot raw and make those decisions myself back at my “digital darkroom”, namely my computer.  I like to sit in front of my computer and decide what I want the finished image to look like.  Some people may love what I do, some may hate it, but as long as I’m happy with my results, I consider the image a success.  As far as these images are concerned, I used Photoshop on all of them, and some tools from OnOne and Topaz on all of them as well.  A couple such as the 1st image of the walking bridge, and the 2 water scences, I shot multiple images and combined them in Photomatix for a tone mapping effect.  On the walking bridge, when I exposed for the grass and trees, part of the bridge went black, and if I exposed for the bridge and the area where I was standing, the far grassy area got washed out.  On the water scenes, the sun was really glaring off the water, and some of the land areas would ge black if I exposed for the water, so again, tone mapping let me get some of everything.  I do re-introduce some shadows back into the image, because shadows do exist in real life…it’s just that our eyes just seamlessly compensate which a camera can’t do in one shot.  I included a couple of the original “out of the camera” images so you can get a before and after idea.  Enough talk, let’s look at some pictures!

"Leaves on Tree Trunk"

“Leaves on Tree Trunk”

"Leaves on Tree Trunk Original"

“Leaves on Tree Trunk Original”

"Dead Tree"

“Dead Tree”

"Dead Tree Original"

“Dead Tree Original”

"Stream"

“Stream”

"Stream Original"

“Stream Original”

"Sulpher Springs"

“Sulpher Springs”

"Sulpher Springs Original"

“Sulpher Springs Original”

"Trees and Meadow"

“Trees and Meadow”

"Trees and Meadow Original"

“Trees and Meadow Original”

"Wild Grass"

“Wild Grass”

"Wild Grass Original"

“Wild Grass Original”

I’ll finish off with a couple more “processed” images

"Sulpher Springs 2"

“Sulpher Springs 2”

"Along the Road in South Chagrin"

“Along the Road in South Chagrin”

"Quarry Rock"

“Quarry Rock”

"My Yard"

“My Yard”

"My Yard Too"

“My Yard Too”

Thanks for checking me out!

 

 

§ 10 Responses to Time To Relax, Reflect, and Recharge!

  • Lewis says:

    Hi.
    I enjoy your photography and appreciate you taking the time to blog about the tricks you use indoors and out. While I think that most people over-do HDR and tonemapping, you tend to stay just under that bar.

    Thanks for sharing; I’ve been a reader of yours for years!

    • Lewis, thanks. I’m attempting to figure out how to get further under the bar! I enjoy some of the “over the top” HDR at certain times, usually depending on the subject manner. I would like to be able to shoot certain things like interiors without lugging around a lot of lights. I think the answer might be in shooting multiple exposure brackets and then using a combination of the separate exposures with layer masks. You can be sure that I’ll be blogging about my experiences with that when I do it. I actually did it twice on my website. In my “Light Painting” gallery, the antique oil cans and the pasta in the black vase with the tomato on the side.

      • Lewis says:

        Well if you have a few more drinks, that might get you farther “under the bar”! LOL Speaking of beer, shooting multiple exposure brackets and then combining parts of them via layer masks (like you did with the beer and oil can) might work well but wouldn’t it take a lot longer to get the results you’re looking for? Seems like it could be simple if a few parts were dark and a few parts were light (like the beer and chips) but if it is complex (like a forest), that process might be pretty tedious, right? Anyway, you post your results and I’ll read what you did. Thanks!

  • wgwatsonphoto says:

    Beautiful moment !!

  • I think that it is important that we produce work we like, because it doesn’t matter what we do, so will like it and others won’t, simple as that. If we are producing for a client we might have to make some concessions, but hopefully they like our work, that is why they have chosen us for the job. All that aside, I like the way you have processed your images.

  • Lewis, it might take longer, but you have an advantage sometimes depending on what you’re shooting. In the old days, shooting a still life meant having your main source of light, but sometimes bringing in another light source for just a small area, and then trying to scrim the light from hitting where you don’t want it. On a tight still life where things are physically close to each other, it was hard. Some product shots where you have a range of colors, was hard…this way it’s easier, or even shooting them separately and then combining in one final shot.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time To Relax, Reflect, and Recharge! at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

