“Happy Holidays”…Mixing My Lights

December 24, 2014 § 4 Comments

"Peace"

“Peace”

I’d like to start out by thanking everyone who follows what I do here.  Thanks to all of my family, friends and clients who have supported me throughout these many years, and I wish you all peace, health and happiness throughout the coming year.  Now a little explanation of how I did these images.  The “Peace Wreath” consists of four parts.  The background was shot with a blue gel on a strobe through two layers of plexi…one white, and one a dark smoked color.  Next the wreath consisted of two parts.  First, I shot just the wreath’s own lights lit for about a second.  I then used my Streamlight to light paint a version of the wreath and blended them together.  Lastly I added the word “PEACE” in Photoshop.  I also used the the clone stamp tool to add some lights and berries to even out the wreath.  The Santa is interesting.  My wife got this from our attic.  I didn’t even know we had it.  She said it was from an old department store display, probably from the 40’s or 50’s.  I used the same background technique with the blue gel, and shot the wreath and background in the same shot.  This created the silhouette with a minimal amount of light from the bulbs on the wreath.  Santa was lit using my light painting technique…around 30 seconds.  I did clone in some extra lights on the wreath since it looked pretty sparse.  I’m including all of the component images so you can see the various steps.

"Background for Wreath"

“Background for Wreath”

"Wreath Light Painted"

“Wreath Light Painted”

"Wreath's Bulbs Lighted"

“Wreath’s Bulbs Lighted”

"Merry Christmas"

“Merry Christmas”

"Santa's Background"

“Santa’s Background”

Once again, thanks for looking and “Happy Holidays”!

 

§ 4 Responses to “Happy Holidays”…Mixing My Lights

  • Lewis says:

    Hey Jon. Nice photos – looks like you’re getting good with the light painting. It looks like you had a main light source from the top right. Did you use any other lighting? Happy holidays to you and your family too.

  • Lewis, thanks. That main light source is my Streamlight flashlight. I always stand to the right and reach as far as I can, but the part of the subject closest to the right always gets a little more light. Actually when I shoot with a strobe, I almost always put the light on the right side…just the way I see things.

  • Hey Jon,

    Just thought it was about time that I let you know I visit your blog regularly. It’s part of my RSS subscriptions so I always know when you post something new.

    I really love what you do. Every time I see a new post I’m amazed at the beautiful photographs and I love the explanation that you give.

    Keep up the amazing work.

    Terence Boylen
    PhotoWest

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Happy Holidays”…Mixing My Lights at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

