Flowers and Photoshop

September 21, 2015 § 2 Comments

"Flowers"

“Flowers”

I thought I’d walk around our yard and photograph my wife’s flowers, and some of our weeds…we have plenty of them!  This is an exercise that I do to “clear the mind” after shooting jobs with deadlines etc.  It’s so relaxing!  For me, nothing is as relaxing as shooting flowers with available light.  With post processing, I usually don’t strip out the flower and put it on a separate background, but rather, I use curves and levels to darken the background and then bring back the subject with brushes and masks.  On the first image, you can see that I brought the flowers back 100%, and the surrounding leaves at different lesser percentages.  This method leaves me with total control over the final image.  I’m showing a “straight out of the camera” shot on one of the images so you can see a before and after.  All of the images started out the same way, showing grass, other flowers, or other weeds, but with the masking, I can isolate the subject as much or as little as I want.  Hope you enjoy!

"Weeds Final"

“Weeds Final”

"Weeds Original"

“Weeds Original”

"Flowers 2"

“Flowers 2”

"Flowers 3"

“Flowers 3”

"Flowers on Branch"

“Flowers on Branch”

"Dandelion"

“Dandelion”

"More Weeds"

“More Weeds”

Thanks for looking!

§ 2 Responses to Flowers and Photoshop

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Flowers and Photoshop at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

