More Variations in Studio Lighting Techniques

March 21, 2016 § 2 Comments

"Glass Clock"

“Glass Clock”

I thought I’d finish up my series of different lighting techniques for still life images.  I used different lighting techniques for these images.  The “Glass Clock” image was first shot using a strobe, lighting the background with no light hitting the clock itself, thus creating a silhouette.  My background is a 4’x8′ sheet of black formica.  My light consisted of a beauty dish with a “sock” over it to diffuse the light, but also a grid to direct it to a somewhat small area.  Next, I turned off all of my studio lights so it was completely dark(at least as dark as I could), made my aperture f22 and set my shutter speed at 30 seconds.  I’d trip the shutter and “paint” the clock with my small Steamlight flashlight.  I’d open the two separate images as layers in Photoshop and using a mask, “paint in” the clock face and parts of the clock base.  Small sections of the clock were left unpainted to create more interest.  Lastly, I cleaned up the image in Photoshop to get the final image.  I’m including the two separate images, so you can see what I started with and get a “before & after” comparison.  My second image is a combination of shooting the slides on a light table, using only the light from the light table itself to illuminate the slides.  Just like in the clock image, the camera was a silhouette.  I then light “painted” the camera to bring out the detail on the camera.  I could have lit the white cardboard of the slides since they’re white, but I left them black for more drama.  Again, I opened both images as layers in Photoshop, so I could “paint in” the camera.  My last two images of the rake are strictly lit with my flashlight…no lighting combination, just the flashlight.  I tried two different post processing versions…one pretty natural, and one with a little more color.  As usual, if anyone has any questions, I’d be happy to give you any information on these images.

"Camera and Slides"

“Camera and Slides”

"Clock Silhouette"

“Clock Silhouette”

"Clock Face"

“Clock Face”

"Rake 1"

“Rake 1”

"Rake 2"

“Rake 2”

Thanks for looking.

 

§ 2 Responses to More Variations in Studio Lighting Techniques

  • Tustin says:

    Reminds me of work done by a photographer years ago named Aaron Jones. He’d light paint and sometimes through a fog or diffusion filter over the lens while painting certain areas of the shot. Kinda creating layers on a sheet of film instead of in the computer. Thanks for sharing, I really enjoy your posts and have been a silent follower for sometime now.

  • Tustin, I almost bought one of Aaron Jones’ Hosemasters, but couldn’t afford it at the time. I loved the effect he achieved with them. You could shoot part of the image in focus and part out of focus for a really wild effect. Also, you could add color filters on parts of the image and other areas were just natural color. I had 2 friends who each bought one…and did beautiful work with them. My friend Bill said that after the novelty wore off, it just sat in the corner collecting dust. What’s good about my system is that my Streamlight Flashlight only cost $8. I saw on Amazon, that they’re now $16…double, but still a great deal. All the other things like selective focus can be done in Photoshop. If someone was to give me an old Hosemaster, I’d take it in a second and have a blast with it! Thanks for the nice comments on my work!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More Variations in Studio Lighting Techniques at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

