Dead Stuff=Fine Art Images

May 23, 2016 § 6 Comments

"Dead Flowers on My Sidewalk"

“Dead Flowers on My Sidewalk”

If you go back a few posts, you’ll see some tabletop images of dead flower arrangements I shot in my studio.  I placed them in glass vases and used studio strobes to light them.  These were flowers that my wife kept from her brother John’s funeral when he died in April of 2015.  By the way, I shot a portrait of a horse trainer last year, sitting in front of a horse stall with a horse looking on.  That was John just a few months before he died.  Anyhow, after I shot these flowers in the studio, they started to crumble, and my wife kept a very nice arrangement in a vase, but threw the rest out into her garden.  Luckily, she didn’t throw them in the garbage, so I happened to see them laying there right next to our patio.  I grabbed a couple and laid them on the sidewalk.  I shot a few with my smart phone.  They looked pretty good, so I went and got my regular camera and shot them again.  I used different combinations of flowers, and different sections of two different slabs of sidewalk.  Believe it or not, while shooting, a couple of dead leaves blew across the grass about 10 feet from where I was.  I got them, laid then down and shot some frames of them too.  In post processing, I brought out the texture in the sidewalk, and as I adjusted the exposure, some color in the slabs started to show.  I actually decreased the saturation in the sidewalk so it looked closer to what you actually see when walking on them.  I guess there’s all kinds of cliches to describe this, “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”, or “one man’s trash is another man’s treasure”.  I almost entitled this post as “Dead Stuff on My Sidewalk”, but I opted to throw in the “Fine Art” phrase!  Hope you enjoy these, and as usual, if you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

"Dead Flowers on my Sidewalk 2"

“Dead Flowers on my Sidewalk 2”

"Dead Leaf on my Sidewalk"

“Dead Leaf on my Sidewalk”

"Dead Flowers on my Sidewalk 3"

“Dead Flowers on my Sidewalk 3”

"Dead Flowers on my Sidewalk 4"

“Dead Flowers on my Sidewalk 4”

"Dead Leaves on my Sidewalk 2"

“Dead Leaves on my Sidewalk 2”

"Dead Flowers on my Sidewalk 5"

“Dead Flowers on my Sidewalk 5”

As always, thanks for looking!

§ 6 Responses to Dead Stuff=Fine Art Images

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dead Stuff=Fine Art Images at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

