Cleveland…”Changes” because “We Are The Champions”

June 20, 2016 § Leave a comment

"Cha,cha,cha...Changes"

“Cha,cha,cha…Changes”

Pinch me, wake me up…but maybe I’m not dreaming, maybe this is real.  Wow, what a feeling.  I actually can’t remember what I felt back in ’64 when the Browns won the NFL Championship, you know, before there was a “Super Bowl”.  I was 14, a ninth grader.  I’m now eligible to collect Social Security.  I’ve lived through “The Drive”, “The Fumble”, “Red Right 88”, “The Shot” “The 95 World Series”, “The 97 World Series”, hell, I remember feeling like I was kicked in the stomach when I was 9 years old and I heard we traded Rocky Colavito to Detroit for Harvey Kuehn…f**king HARVEY KUEHN!!  I also remember “The Decision”, when I watched in sickening anticipation just knowing in my gut that Lebron was about to decide that he was leaving us.  I believe it was the very next day that the big Lebron banner was being removed, and I rushed downtown that Sunday morning thinking it would be gone, but hoping I could record the event.  I was surprised that I made it on time.  I got my shot and with time, the pain and humiliation wore off.  My Lebron image was just another good image on my website, fitting in with the “orange surfer” shot or the “old man with the pole”.  I decided last week to redo my website.  I want to move on from the past, refresh the site, bring it kicking and screaming into the modern era, but one move can’t wait, so I made it today.  My Lebron image is being retired!  Lebron came back and vowed he’d bring us a championship, and he delivered big time!  Clevelanders are good decent people, we like to forgive and forget, even though we were hurt badly by “The Decision”, there was always a deeply routed love for our “prodigal son”.  So while thinking about Freddy Mercury singing “We Are The Champions”, or David Bowie singing “Changes”, all is good today in the “Land”!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cleveland…”Changes” because “We Are The Champions” at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

