What Will You Be Doing…17 Years From Now?

July 5, 2016 § 6 Comments

"Cicada 1"

“Cicada 1”

I know that sounds like a dumb question, but I started to think along those lines recently…actually just in the past couple of months or so.  The cicadas returned this Spring after being dormant for the last 17 years.  I remember the last time they were around because I was standing in a cemetery after burying a loved one, and we were discussing the annoying sound they make.  This time I felt differently.  I’m at the age, when it’s entirely possible that I won’t be around the next time they appear.  I found myself listening with a different mindset, one that found the sound not only interesting, but enjoyable.  My son takes walks almost everyday in the local parks and he told me where he found an area where the cicadas would actually land on you.  To be honest, I had never seen one close-up, so I asked my son to take me to that location.  When we got there, I was thinking I might have maybe 17 minutes left, if I was lucky…hot day, no water, but a picnic table out in no-man’s land where I could rest!  I looked down and found a dead cicada.  My son was calling me from about 50 yards away telling me they were swarming all around him, but I had enough…the dead one would do!  I posed him(her?) on the table and took a few shots.  This went well since I have had some experience working with models before.  My son returned and showed me a couple of areas where you could see the holes that the cicadas emerged from.  I shot all of these with my phone, something I would not have had with me 17 years ago.  O.K. finally I’m back to my original (dumb?) question.  17 years from now, where will you be, what will you be doing?  I think these questions gain a bit more relevance the older we get.  I personally know what I’ll be doing the next couple of days, but after that who knows.  Last week, I re-did my website.  The old one I’ve been meaning to do something with the old one since my old one had a style that dated back to at least a couple of cicada sightings!  It’s weird, but it was this cicada experience that made me realize that while I accomplished quite a few things in the last 17 years, maybe if I really buckle down, I can accomplish a lot more in the next 17.

"Cicada 2"

“Cicada 2”

"Cicada Holes 1"

“Cicada Holes 1”

"Cicada Holes 2"

“Cicada Holes 2”

Thanks for looking.

§ 6 Responses to What Will You Be Doing…17 Years From Now?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What Will You Be Doing…17 Years From Now? at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

