Rust Belt Beauty

August 29, 2016 § Leave a comment

"Rusted Beauty 1"

“Rusted Beauty 1”

I’ve lived in Cleveland all of my life…actually in a suburb a little southeast of Cleveland proper.  I still consider Cleveland my home, live and die with our sports teams (yeah Cavs!), and take great pride in The Cleveland Orchestra, The Cleveland Museum of Art, The Cleveland Clinic, University Hospitals, The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and various businesses that call Cleveland home such as Sherwin Williams and Progressive Insurance.  I’m beginning to sound like a cheer leader!  No matter what Cleveland does, I still hear us referred to as one of the “rust belt” cities.  It’s true that Cleveland along with other mid-west cities lost a lot of manufacturing jobs.  We have our share of old abandoned factories, but there are still many producing products just like they did many years ago.  Last week, on one of my many photography field trips I take to photograph the sights of downtown Cleveland, I happened on an old manufacturing plant in one of the industrial areas.  To be honest, I have no idea what is being produced here, but I fell in love visually with the tanks and towers and winding stairs of this facility.  Here’s a sampling of what I call “Rusted Beauty”.

"Rusted Beauty 2"

“Rusted Beauty 2”

"Rusted Beauty 3"

“Rusted Beauty 3”

"Rusted Beauty 4"

“Rusted Beauty 4”

"Rusted Beauty 5"

“Rusted Beauty 5”

As always, thanks for viewing!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rust Belt Beauty at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

