Fine Art…In My Own Front Yard

May 3, 2017 § 4 Comments

“Fine Art Plants 1”

Sometimes we photographers tend to feel envious of people who travel the world and shoot some amazing images in some far-off exotic part of the world.  I did a ton of traveling back in the 70’s, 80’s, and into the early 90’s.  It is fun to explore beautiful areas in the U.S. and abroad.  I was fortunate to visit France, Great Britain, and Mexico back in the late 60’s to the mid-70’s.  By far my favorite places were our very own National Parks.  I love scenic and nature photography.  That’s what got me interested in photography in the first place.  Eventually I studied photography at The Cooper School of Art, where I learned studio still life photography and how to operate large format cameras and studio lighting.  This led to my career in commercial photography.  Even though my travel days are in the past, I still love to go out locally and shoot nature and scenics.  One of the areas I love shooting every Spring, is along my front porch!  You read that right, a 2’x10′ strip of plants my wife planted right along our front porch.  I never know from one year to the next, what these plants will look like, or what shape they’ll take on.  Depending on whether I stand in front of them, or go on the porch and lean over the railing and shoot them from the rear, they can take on many different looks.  So here is a small sampling of what I shot last Sunday in that 2’x10′ part of my front yard.

“Fine Art Plants 2”

“Fine Art Plants 3”

“Fine Art Plants 4”

“Fine Art Plants 5”

As always, thanks for looking!

§ 4 Responses to Fine Art…In My Own Front Yard

  • Beautifully conceived and photographed.

  • These are beautiful! I remember my photography professor telling me there are very successful photographers that work in their own backyard. Back in the days I thought I had to travel to get the shot…he put me in my place 😉 Thanks for that memory and the inspiration.

  • Janice, thanks for that. Back in the 70’s, I did “road trips” with my friends. I was able to visit and photograph a lot of the National Parks. Now due to family, responsibilities etc., I can’t just take off, so I had to find interesting subjects a lot closer to home. Now sometimes I’m without a car on certain days, so if I want to shoot, it has to be in my own back yard. There are so many beautiful things around here, maybe not on a grand scale, but they exist right under our noses! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fine Art…In My Own Front Yard at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

