Personal Work…Before and After Images

August 7, 2017 § 2 Comments

“Rupert & Fanny”

Sometimes after shooting images for clients, it’s nice to just give myself a nice relaxing self assignment.  One of my favorite subjects to shoot is Cleveland.   Shooting neighborhoods, buildings etc. in my hometown is a labor of love.  I recently blogged about an ongoing personal project of shooting the many churches in and around Cleveland.  Sometimes though, it’s nice to just stay home and find something to shoot.  I used to do this with still life in my studio, and plan on doing some more of that in the near future, but at our home, we have horses and a lot of cats.  I have hundreds of cat shots, and quite a few horse images.  Last Sunday was a beautiful sunny but cool breezy day, a perfect day for my wife to let her horses out.   I grabbed my camera and spent a peaceful Sunday shooting the horses.  I always have my camera set to raw so I can add color, texture, and possibly adjust the exposure in Photoshop.  My original images as you can see, are fine, but being raw, they lack “punch”!  I like to add some more color, texture, and my usual preference is to make my images a little darker and moodier.  In this instance, I also removed the bridles, replaced the green metal gate with more split rail fencing and generally cleaned up the area.  I’m including the “before” images, so you can get an idea of what these images looked like right out of the camera.

“Rupert & Fanny Original”

“Rupert Posing”

“Rupert Posing” Original

“Rupert, Fanny, & Berti”

“Rupert, Fanny & Berti” Original

Rupert, Fanny & Berti” Again

“Rupert, Fanny & Berti” Again Original

“Indie”

“Indie” Original

“Indie” Again

“Indie” Again Original

“Indie” One More Time

“Indie” One More Time Original

I know this was a long one, but as usual, thanks for looking!

 

§ 2 Responses to Personal Work…Before and After Images

  • Leslie Lance says:

    Loved them!

    On Mon, Aug 7, 2017 at 12:06 PM, DeVaul Photography’s Blog wrote:

    > devaulphotography posted: ” Sometimes after shooting images for clients, > it’s nice to just give myself a nice relaxing self assignment. One of my > favorite subjects to shoot is Cleveland. Shooting neighborhoods, > buildings etc. in my hometown is a labor of love. I recently blo” >

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Personal Work…Before and After Images at DeVaul Photography's Blog.

meta

